HLED 305
Child Abuse PowerPoint


Child Abuse
What is a teacher’s role?

Video
Child Abuse and Neglect: A Prevention and Reporting Guide

Child Abuse: Michigan
  • Child means a person under 18 years of age
  • Harm or threatened harm to a child’s health or welfare
  • By a parent, legal guardian, or any other person responsible for the child’s health or welfare
  • Or by a teacher or teacher’s aide
  • That occurs through non-accidental physical or mental injury; sexual abuse; sexual exploitation; or maltreatment
Michigan School Code
  • Bans Corporal Punishment
    • Deliberate infliction of physical pain
    • Hitting, paddling, spanking, slapping
    • Or any other means of physical force used as a means of discipline
  • Employees, volunteers, contractors
    • Shall not inflict or cause to be inflicted
    • Corporal punishment
    • Upon any student under any circumstances

Child Abuse: Michigan Definitions
  • Physical Abuse:
    • Physical harm: any physical injury
    • Serious physical harm: not necessarily permanent, but substantial bodily disfigurement or seriously impairs function of body organ or limb
  • Sexual Abuse:
    • Engaging in sexual contact or sexual penetration with a child
  • Neglect:
    • Willfull failure to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter or medical care
    • Willful abandonment
  • Emotional Abuse:
    • Serious mental harm
    • not necessarily permanent
    • visible manifestations of a substantial disorder of thought or mood
    • significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to cope with ordinary demands of life
What type of abuse is more common?

Who Must Report in Michigan?
  • School administrators
  • School counselors
  • School teachers
  • Regulated child care providers
  • Physicians
  • Coroners
  • Dentists
  • Registered dental hygienists
  • Nurses
  • Licensed emergency care providers
  • Audiologists
  • Psychologists
  • Marriage/family therapists
  • Licensed professional counselors
  • Certified social workers
  • Social workers
  • Social work technicians
  • Law enforcement officers
When Do You Have to Report in MI?
  • Have reasonable cause to suspect child abuse or neglect
  • Pregnancy of a child less than 12 years of age
  • Presence of a venereal disease in a child who is over 1 month of age but less than 12 years of age
  • Reasonable cause
    • If you have reason to suspect you must report
    • even if you do not believe
    • Suspicion or apprehension is enough to trigger a report
    • Don’t investigate alleged abuse
Federal law requires confidentiality
  • of reports of suspected abuse
  • records of abuse investigations
When a child reports abuse
  • listen, but do not act visibly shocked or disbelieving
  • don’t challenge the child’s statement
  • tell the child it is not his/her fault
  • thank the child for their courage
  • tell the child you must report this to get them help
MI  Procedures for Mandatory Reporters
  • immediately make oral report
    • Telephone State of MI Department of Human Services
    • Centralized Intake starting 3/5/2012
    • 1-855-444-3911
  • Within 72 hours after making oral report
    • file written report
    • Centralized Intake for Abuse and Neglect
  • Notify the person in charge of the school of the finding and that the report has been made


Updated 10-10-12